Press Release

English

Press Release
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006

June 28, 2013

Update (No.13): Incident Involving the Containership MOL Comfort

TOKYO-Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. (MOL; President: Koichi Muto) updates the status of the containership MOL Comfort as of 23:00 JST (18:00 Dubai time) on June 27, 2013. The vessel could not continue sailing under its own power from June 17 because the hull fractured in 2 parts while under way on the Indian Ocean.

  • Vessel
    The fore part is located near 16'05"N 68'34"E. The weather in the area is still adverse. The aft part, as already reported, sank at 16:48 JST (11:48 Dubai time) on June 27.
  • Containers
    The fore part is being towed stably with majority of cargo aboard.
  • Rescue of the cargo and hulls
    We have contracted with a salvage company to rescue the cargo and hulls. We are towing the fore part in a west-northwest direction. We are keeping patrol boats to monitor the situation of oil leakage and floating containers in the area where the aft part sank.
  • Oil leakage
    We confirmed no oil film around the fore part, while no large volume of oil leakage confirmed through the monitoring in the area where the aft part sank.

Top of Page